Whitver Announces Committee Chairs

Today, Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, R-Grimes, announced the Iowa Senate committee chairs for the 90th General Assembly.

“The first supermajority in the Iowa Senate in 5 decades is ready to deliver results for Iowans,” said Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver. “I am eager to get to work with my fellow Republican Senators to help Iowans combat inflation, reduce barriers to job creation, and continue to implement our historic income tax cuts.”


Senator Dawn Driscoll, R-Williamsburg


Senator Tim Kraayenbrink, R-Ft. Dodge


Senator Waylon Brown, R-Osage


Senator Ken Rozenboom, R-Pella


Senator Tom Shipley, R-Nodaway

Government Oversight

Senator Amy Sinclair, R-Allerton

Health and Human Services (Human Resources has been renamed Health and Human Services)

Senator Jeff Edler, R-State Center


Senator Brad Zaun, R-Urbandale

Local Government

Senator Jesse Green, R-Boone

Natural Resources and Environment

Senator Annette Sweeney, R-Alden

Rules and Administration

Senator Jack Whitver

State Government

Senator Jason Schultz, R-Schleswig

Technology (The Technology Committee will focus on information technology, telecommunications, cybersecurity, and other related policies.)  

Senator Chris Cournoyer, R-LeClaire


Senator Mike Klimesh, R-Spillville

Veterans Affairs

Senator Jeff Reichman, R-Montrose

Ways and Means

Senator Dan Dawson, R-Council Bluffs

Workforce (the Labor Committee has been renamed the Workforce Committee)

Senator Adrian Dickey, R-Packwood 

Appropriations Subcommittees

Administration and Regulation

Senator Dave Rowley, R-Spirit Lake

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Senator Dan Zumbach, R-Ryan


Senator Jeff Taylor, R-Sioux Center

Economic Development

Senator Mark Lofgren, R-Muscatine

Health and Human Services 

Senator Mark Costello, R-Imogene

Justice Systems

Senator Julian Garrett, R-Indianola

Transportation, Infrastructure and Capitals

Senator Carrie Koelker, R-Dyersville

Other Committee Chair Assignments

Administrative Rules Review

Senator Mike Klimesh, vice chair

International Relations

Senator Annette Sweeney, vice chair