Whitver Reelected Senate Majority Leader

Sinclair chosen as Senate President-select to help lead GOP supermajority

Senate Republicans reelected Jack Whitver, R-Grimes, as Majority Leader. Amy Sinclair, R-Allerton, was chosen as President-select of the Iowa Senate for the 90th General Assembly. 

“Leading this caucus is a great honor and privilege,” said Senator Whitver. “I am humbled to be reelected as the Senate Majority Leader for the Iowa Senate and lead one of the most productive and conservative caucuses in the country. I am proud of the accomplishments we have had over the last several years, like historic tax reform, controlling spending, and supporting law enforcement. I look forward to working on important issues facing our state.”

Senator Whitver was first elected to the Iowa Senate in 2011. Through his tenure in the Iowa Senate, he has held leadership positions including Ranking Member of the Appropriations Committee and Republican Whip. After the November 2016 election, when Republicans gained control of the Iowa Senate, Senator Whitver was elected as the Iowa Senate President by his colleagues. In March 2018 he became Senate Majority Leader.

“I thank my colleagues for the opportunity to be the President of the Iowa Senate,” said Senator Sinclair. “This role is critical to the success of our caucus and the Senate as a whole. I appreciate the trust they have put in me, and I look forward to continuing the progress we have made to make Iowa the best state in the country.”   

Senator Sinclair was first elected to the Iowa Senate in 2013. She has served as the Majority Whip since 2018 and served as the chair of the Senate Education Committee. She has also been a member of several important committees in the Senate, such as Ways and Means, Commerce, and Judiciary.